He Hit Me

Loving him was very hard
with all his poison and rage.
I tired,
remembering how he used to raise me up
with all his gentle loving.
Now, my face is burning-
-shrieking with shock.
I could feel the black-
-the blue come creeping across my cheek.
I felt like I had died right there
sprawled out on the floor weeping.

He hit me
knocked me down
broke my heart.
He hit me
and it didn’t feel like a kiss-
it felt like death.

We could have gone back to loving-
-caring for one another.
We could have done so much more-
-together forever and forever more.
But now,
I could feel it burning away in shades of blue-
-in shades of black.
It all turned into an ugly discolored kiss
telling me he didn’t care about me.
That felt just like death
sprawled out on the floor weeping.

He hit me
knocked me down
broke my heart.
He hit me
and it didn’t feel like a kiss-
it felt like death.

6 Comments

Filed under Mr. Stacker

6 responses to “He Hit Me

  1. Will finding a counselor helps?

    Yoshiko

    >

  2. such men are beneath contempt

  3. Wonderful writing you captured the essence of the shock hurt and betrayal. I hope this is imagination and not your reality. Get out and get help if it is . Things will never improve. xxx

    • J.R.Taylor

      Thank you!!!! And no…luckily I have never been in that sort of relationship. This was just my rendition of that moment after listening to He Hit Me by the Cranberries and Ultraviolence by Lana Del Rey.
      I just don’t believe anyone should be subjected to such cruelty. It is a terrible tragedy that it happens so often.

Leave a Reply

