The Weather of the Brain

There was a light in the distance; an off-shade of ruby.

Before I could stop it, the blast shocked me.

And it was as if the child’s spirit in me was crying and screaming in the same moment.

However, I was filled with neither sorrow nor anger.

I was still standing there with a glow on my face.

Despite what took place at a crossroads that night.

You never thought to take a glimpse at that crystal ball.

But it flourished before Glenda could ever catch the clue.

You escaped Oz before it turned on you; before they had a chance to send you home.

No, I say, I’m staying right here.

I like the flying monkeys and the golden road that led me to fear and courage

All mixed into the same storm.

No fancy shoes for her.

No, I say, I’m staying right here.

Stuck in this sun-filled, blue-skied image.

The light, an off-shade of ruby, was the unknown beacon;

The unknown beacon to the most pleasant of daydreams.

2 Comments

Filed under Willow Hutton

2 responses to “The Weather of the Brain

  1. Pingback: The Weather of the Brain | Campfire

  2. I have a lot of weather issues in my brain also…hehehe

Leave a Reply

