Not Here

I hung up on Ulysses. 
Didn't except the collect call on the adventures 
   I could have had. 
I could still hear him cackling through the line. 
Burned that wire to the ground. 
Told him not to come here. 
not here.
 
That'd be a little to much for me. 
I just wanna stay here were my reality is real. 
Live my life on these six strings and bread. 
Kept under fed and always wanting. 
Waiting for nothing And expecting less. 
More is something Idon't need here. 
Not here.

Keep it simple. 
Keep it plain so no one knows my name. 
People I've left behind don't know. 
Kept them in the dark so I can stay far way 
    from the bleak that I remember. 
Fame would bring it back. 
But there is none here. 
Not here.

Fame is nothing but to blame for the problems 
    of the dreamers and the depressed. 
I'll just sit here. 
Mouthing words. 
strumming on broken strings. 
Singing to the world in silence because it can't get me. 
Not here. 
Not here.


Written By
Orpheus

September 2nd

(Excerpt from The Orpheus Alternative)
9 Comments

Filed under Mr. Stacker

9 responses to “Not Here

  1. prosemachine

    I love this.

  2. Orpheus continues forever, after all.

  3. “Fame is nothing but to blame for the problems
    of the dreamers and the depressed.” – Such an amazing quote that can be viewed from so many perspectives. Keep doing your thing.

    • J.R.Taylor

      Thanks! This poem really just came out of nowhere and then down onto the page. And you keep doing your thing! Your poems are fantastic!

  4. “More is something Idon’t need here.
    Not here.
    Keep it simple.
    Keep it plain so no one knows my name”
    You have a very dinstinctive ring to the words.
    They behave like movements in this piece. Kudos !!

  5. I love this idea, historic perspective. I usually do this with fiction, but love the idea of entering the head of a historical figure. Great fun with this one!

Leave a Reply

