Mind Remains On You

MIND REMAINS ON YOU

Written: JUNE 30

By Camelot

of

Key To Transmission

What lies in here,

in my mind,

time relies on past smiles

and words like “I’m sorry.”

 

Didn’t mean to break

but I couldn’t handle it all.

The secrets and the questions

when I didn’t know myself.

 

So I packed up my bags

Went back to New York

hoping the restless nights

and the bright lights

would take me back to the start.

But it didn’t

and it wouldn’t

because my mind remained on you.

My mind remained on you

through those troubled nights

and glaring lights.

 

Now I’ve come back,

with what lies in here,

in my mind

made up of stupid excuses

and dreams of me and you.

 

Didn’t mean to take this long

but I needed to figure it all out.

The secrets and the questions

now I know myself.

 

So here I am with my bags

came back from New York

Where all I could think of was you

and every light shined like you.

 

What lies behind you?

In your house

but tiny shining smiles

and husbandly comforting words.

 

Didn’t mean to make you cry

but how could I have known?

My heart breaks in two.

We were so young last I’d flown.

 

So I packed up my bags

Went back to New York

hoping the restless nights

and the bright lights

would take me back to the start.

But it didn’t

and it wouldn’t

because my mind remained on you.

My mind remained on you

through those troubled nights

and glaring lights.

 

My mind remains on you

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(excerpt from THE ORPHEUS ALTERNATIVE)

4 Comments

Filed under Mr. Stacker

4 responses to “Mind Remains On You

  1. this is fantastic. great flow throughout the poem.

  2. J.R.Taylor

    Thank you all for the kind words! It is encouraging to see the likes and the comments! I cannot even begin to express my gratitude!

Leave a Reply

